Royal Scottish Highland Games Association

The Royal Scottish Highland Games Association [RSHGA] is the sports governing body for Scottish Highland Games. The organisation was established in 1947 as the Scottish Games Association, with the general aim to further the cause of Highland Games, a goal they still work to today. They are recognised by the UK & Scottish Governments as the official sports governing body and they work at a strategic level on behalf of member Highland Games.

Stirling is one of 62 official member highland games of the RSHGA. Due to the distance apart, the only other official highland games that share’s its day with Stirling is Helmsdale HG in the Highlands.

This year’s RSHGA Officials attending Stirling are:

  • Stuart Laing
  • Stewart Forsyth
  • Charlie Murray

The RSHGA is an organisation comprising elected representatives of Highland Games from each region in Scotland

  • The RSHGA serve over 60 member events across the country
  • The RSHGA maintain and develop a legacy of Highland Games traditions that date back over a thousand years
  • RSHGA members exemplify all that is best about good competition and sportsmanship
  • Over 500 athletes compete at RSHGA events throughout the year
  • The RSHGA stage well over 1,000 competitions at events across the season
  • RSHGA members provide quality entertainment and suspense for over 150,000 spectators
  • RSHGA members’ events payout prize funds in excess of £¼ million annually
  • The RSHGA handle enquiries from around the world about Highland Games and members’ events
  • RSHGA member Highland Games contribute over £20million annually to local economies (Scottish Exec, Feb’07)

The RSHGA print a new edition of the RSHGA Yearbook annually, the Highland Games almanack

Countdown to Stirling Highland Games

Scroll to Top